Review: The Damsel and the Daggerman

81dQUYoTqFL._SL1500_Since Tish arrived in Sang in Wicked as They Come, sexy ringmaster Criminy Stain has been “off the market” so to speak.  With Criminy unavailable, the caravan has been lacking something: a lusciously hot man to drool over.  However, in The Damsel and the Daggerman, Delilah S. Dawson gives the carnivalleros and readers a dark, new, mysterious, violet-eyed man to swoon about.  Enter Marco Taresque.  Handsome, deadly, and mysterious.  He’s the perfect man for all the girls’ fantasies, especially starry-eyed contortionist Demi Ward.  But where did he come from?  Why did he wander in off the moors?    Is he really as dangerous as he seems?

Fierce-witted and ruthless reporter Jacinda Harville arrives in the night with an offer that Criminy simply can’t refuse.  But what does the reporter really want?  Is she documenting the stories of the caravan workers as she claims or is there something else she is after?  What will become of her and the dangerous daggerman?  Will she get more than she bargained for? All these questions and more are answered in this exciting and steamy novella!

The Damsel and the Daggerman is a bittersweet story to read.  As many readers know, Wicked After Midnight (releasing Jan. 28) is the last in the Blud series.  The Damsel and the Daggerman gives readers a succulent appetizer of Dawson’s excellent writing, but it also is overshadowed with a sense (at least for me) of sadness.  Dawson has written Criminy’s caravan so well that it seems to go on even when the story stops, so it is sad to read knowing that the stories are soon coming to an end.  Dawson does an amazing job of letting readers say goodbye in this novella, though.  Tish and Criminy make appearances along with Imogen and Mr. Murdoch.   Wicked as She Wants took readers on a fantastic ride with Casper and Ahnastasia, but The Damsel and the Daggerman brought us back home to the caravan.  I tip my hat to Delilah S. Dawson for her imaginative stories and intriguing plots.  I don’t like saying goodbye, but I can’t wait to read Wicked After Midnight either!

Series Reading Order: 
#1      Wicked as They Come
#1.5   The Mysterious Madame Morpho
#1.6   The Peculiar Pets of Miss Pleasance 
#2      Wicked As She Wants
#2.5   The Damsel and the Daggerman (releases Jan. 6, 2014)
#3      Wicked After Midnight (releases Jan. 28, 2014)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s